Seal Island NWR: An Instagram Video View

stacebirdFrom 23 miles out into the Atlantic Ocean, I present you with sights and sounds from around this beautiful, dramatic, biodiversity-rich seabird nesting island where I’ve been so fortunate to spend my time over the years. As we trickle into fall, the grasses slowly brown, the winds stir up and here we remain for the last weeks of the late-nesting cormorant season to ensure they survive to fledging.

These are some videos I’ve been posting on my Instagram which make for a great stacebird’s eye view of this island I’m so enamored with. Please enjoy!

Fish dinner cooked over the fire, a serene evening.. #islandlife #optoutside #purebliss #maine #islandgirl

A post shared by Stacey M. Hollis (@stacebird) on

Grey afternoon on the island. #aintcomplaining

A post shared by Stacey M. Hollis (@stacebird) on

Rocky island waves. #optoutside #maine #outdoors #island #hiking #islandguardian

A post shared by Stacey M. Hollis (@stacebird) on

If this makes you more curious about what I’m doing out here and the seasons I’ve spent here in the past working for Project Puffin, I invite you to visit my archives (see on right) for the months beginning with June–when I started this blog–through September for the entirety of the 2016 nesting season.

About Stacey M. Hollis

Aspiring Environmental Field Journalist taking on the world of birds, living on a seabird island 23 miles out in the Atlantic, hiking a rainforest on the Gulfo Dulce, exploring a sage brush terrain in the southwest, traipsing through a spruce-fir forests in Canada, slogging the salt marshes of the Chesapeake Bay, navigating Puerto Rico's Caribbean dry forest, learning about different cultures living in Guatemala and Nicaragua and it all contributes to whatever it is I'm doing while I have this time to do it. Costa Rica is up next, who knows what else is to follow.
This entry was posted in BirdJob, Project Puffin, video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

